Skip to content
December 30, 2009 / kingthunder

“hope” and “future”

A Vision of Jesus and His Plans for Me

Every Wednesday morning some of us gather for a time of soaking. Recently, during one of these sessions, I had an encounter with the Lord. I realize that getting up in the early morning to meet with the Lord is truly a sacrifice, but I am finding quickly that it does not take long for Him to show up when we make that sacrifice.

This particular morning I made my place in the front of the stage to be still, and immediately I saw Him. He had the biggest, toothiest smile planted across His face. He leapt upon seeing me, and you could tell He had a sprightly step this particular morning. As I looked into His eyes, I could tell He was up to something.

As soon as that thought came to my mind, Jeremiah 29:11 was in my spirit, “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'”

Immediately, He held out His hands and in them He had two blocks. On one block was written, “Hope,” and on the other, “Future.” I stood up to take them, but instead of taking them He shoved them straight into my chest. I knew at that instant I would be able to discern the mysteries of my hope and future.

My first instinct was to search inside to see the details. I had such excitement that my destiny would finally be revealed and my future laid out in full detail before me. As my eyes focused on the two blocks, the words “hope” and “future” had been replaced by only one name: “Jesus.” There were no details at all, no plans for world domination, no formula to take the globe, no step-by-step programs—only His name.

I looked up and He spoke. “I have the details and I will reveal them when I am ready; for now I am all you need, I am your hope and your future! I am the rhythm of life, I am the next note, I am the next unknown which I already know, I am the next breath which I have already taken. I hold all the wisdom from the age past, the age present, and the age to come.”

For the next few moments I pondered this deep in my heart. We get so wrapped up in the details; I know how important plans and details are. They are needed, but many times “the details” become the focus. Honestly, He is the only detail that matters! In Proverbs 16:9 it states, “A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the LORD directeth his steps.”

The Daily Details

In Matthew 5 Jesus sees the multitudes coming and He climbs the mountain. His disciples climbed with Him, and if you read closely, you will see He taught those that climbed with Him, not the multitudes. That is another article for another day. However, in the next couple of chapters Jesus begins to lay the foundations of the Kingdom of Heaven. Later, in chapter 6, He begins to talk about the daily details. In verses 25-32, Jesus talks about the details of life, and He sums it all up in verse 33: “But seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Seek Him first in everything we do and He will reveal and add everything else later. We strive so hard for the details when all we have to do is be in the secret place with no agenda except to love on Him, and out of that—the hope and the future appear. Remember that He taught and revealed those details to the ones that climbed the mountain with Him. This “climb” will take work and sacrifice on our part.

Peter encountered this very thing when Jesus asked him to step out of the boat and walk on the water. At first Peter was so focused on Jesus that nothing else around him mattered. As he got out on the water, the details of how he was doing this and the “what-if’s” began to creep in. In my opinion, Peter starting looking around and forming details of how he would get out of this predicament if needed, and as soon as he did he began to sink. As soon as Peter focused again on Jesus and took His hand, everything was fine.

I encourage you that as you plan out the details, always keep the focus on Him. I love planning meetings and brainstorming, but in the end He knows the plans He has for you, not to harm you, but to give you a hope and a future!

That hope and future has always been and will always be—Jesus.

By Vince Gibson

Leave a Reply

